Lakota (moons) Months by Matt Remle

The traditional calender for the Lakota was based on the moons cycles.  A year was divided into 13 moons with each moon being 28 days long.  Traditionally, the Lakota calender started in spring, since spring time symbolizes the start of new life (plants, animals).

While amongst the Lakota there many different names for each new moon, below are the most commonly used names and their corresponding month in the Western calender.

Pȟeží Tȟó Wí (April) The moon of green grass


Čhaƞwápe Tȟó Wí (May) The moon of green leaves


Thíƞpsiƞla Itkáȟča Wí (June) The moon when turnips are in blossom


Čhaƞpȟá Sápa Wí (July) The moon when chokecherry’s are black


Wasútȟuƞ Wí (August) The moon of ripeness


Čhaƞwápe Ǧí Wí (September) The moon of brown leaves


Čhaƞwápe Kasná Wí (October) The moon of falling leaves


Waníyetu Wí (November) The winter moon


Tȟahé Kapšúƞ Wí (December) The moon when deer shed their antlers


Wiótheȟika Wí (January) The moon when the sun is scarce


Cȟaƞnápȟopa Wí (February) The moon of popping trees


Ištáwičhayazaƞ Wí (March) The moon of sore eyes

Mitakuye oyasin
Wakinyan Waanatan (Matt Remle)

10 thoughts on “Lakota (moons) Months by Matt Remle

  1. Pilamaya. I haven’t spoken my native language in years. My mother died in 1995 and was the one I spoke to. I want to brush up so I can teach my son. He has asked me several time to teach him. I would like to get language DVDs and books to help me. If you could point me in the right direction I would be very greatful.

  2. Pingback: RE: Lakota (moons) Months | Spirit In The Wind 2

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s