Learn the Days of the Week & Seasons in Lakota by Matt Remle

Traditional Lakota time expressions centered on the changing moons, seasonal changes, and the four important times of day (dawn, noon, sunset, and midnight). Time references to days of the week and the clock comes out of contact with European immigrants.

The seasons, which start on the spring equinox, summer solstice, fall equinox, and the winter solstice were described as times of birth in that every season is a new birth. The word etu designates time.


Wétu (suntime) Spring

Blokétu (potato time) Summer

Ptaƞyétu (changeable time) Fall

Waníyetu (snow time) Winter

Days of the Week

Aƞpétu Tȟokáheya (Monday)

Aƞpétu Núƞpa (Tuesday)

Aƞpétu Yámni (Wednesday)

Aƞpétu Tópa (Thursday)

Aƞpétu Záptaƞ (Friday)

Owáƞkayužažapi (Day to wash the Floor – Saturday)

Aƞpétu Wakȟáƞ (Day of power – Sunday)

Le aƞpétu kiƞ táku hwo? (What day is it today?)*

Four Important Times of Day

Áƞpo kiƞ (at dawn)

Wíčhokaƞ hiyaye kiƞ (when the sun is in the middle of its journey – noon)

Wímahél iyáye kiƞ (when the sun went in – sunset)

Haƞčhókaƞyaƞ kiƞ (middle of the night – midnight)

Posted and vocals by Wakinyan Waanatan (Matt Remle)




*hwo is a verbal question mark used by males.  Females say “he” for verbal question mark.

10 thoughts on “Learn the Days of the Week & Seasons in Lakota by Matt Remle

  1. Pingback: » Days of the Week in Lakota (Matt Remle) Native Youth Language Project

  2. Pingback: » Colors in the Lakota Language Native Youth Language Project

  3. Wopila! As we circle the wheel, can you give Lakotah for Vernal Equinox, Summer Solstice, Autumnal Equinox and Winter Solstice? Many Thanks,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s